If you were injured at work in Minnesota, you’ll probably want to file for workers’ compensation. You’ll likely be able to do this if you suffered financially as a result of your injury, whether that was due to medical bills or lost wages.
Before you file for workers’ compensation, you should make sure that you have a good understanding of how the law applies to you. The following is an overview of how workers’ compensation laws apply to workers in Minnesota.
Minnesota workers must meet important deadlines
Time is of the essence when it comes to filing for workers’ compensation in Minnesota. It is essential that you inform your employer of your injury within 14 days of it occurring if you want to receive maximum benefits. You then have 3 years to recover compensation.
Minnesota workers can obtain several types of benefits
It’s likely that you required medical care after your injury, and this treatment may have been costly. You have the right to full compensation for all reasonable and necessary medical care that is required to treat your injury.
In addition to the covered medical expenses, you should also be entitled to the reimbursement of some of your lost wages. You may also be able to access vocational rehabilitation benefits if you are unable to continue in your current job due to your injury.
If you have recently been injured at work in Minnesota, it is important that you take action to claim the workers’ compensation that you deserve. Getting legal guidance now can ensure you get access to all compensation for which you are eligible.