Dedicated To Securing
Maximum Compensation
Attorney Jerry Lindberg headshot
Attorney Brandon McLaughlin headshot

The four levels of disability for workers’ compensation

On Behalf of | Jul 19, 2015 | Workers' Compensation |

Minnesota residents who sustain injuries while on the job that cause them to be unable to work can be in great need for financial assistance. Lost wages coupled with medical expenses can be a drain on you as an individual or your family. Fortunately, workers’ compensation benefits are available for these situations. Workplace injuries can happen in any type of work and can result in anything from short-term disabilities to permanent lifelong conditions.

The Social Security Administration website provides information about the four levels of disability that are recognized by Minnesota for the purpose of paying workers’ compensation benefits. These are as follows:

  • With a Temporary Partial (TP) disability, your injury has caused you to be disabled in some way but not completely. You may be unable to use one arm in a way needed for your job, for example. Your disability is expected to be short-term as your injury is something that can be healed or cured.
  • With a Permanent Partial (PP) disability, your injury still only impacts part of your functioning but is not able to be healed or fixed. An example of this would be the loss of an arm.
  • A Temporary Total (TT) disability refers to a case in which you are expected to recover from your injuries. However, in the meantime, you are completely disabled.
  • A Permanent Total (PT) disability refers to a case in which you will not be able to recover via rehabilitation and your injuries are completely disabling.

The professionals at Lindberg Law, P.C. understand how challenging it can be to navigate the workers’ compensation claim process and have helped countless people receive the help they need.

FindLaw Network